Standing Committee on the Antarctic Treaty System

SCAR is an official Observer to the Antarctic Treaty and has provided independent, objective scientific advice in a variety of fields, particularly on environmental and conservation matters.  The Standing Committee on the Antarctic Treaty System (SCATS) is the body tasked with developing SCAR’s scientific advice to the Antarctic Treaty Consultative Meeting (ATCM) and its Committee on Environmental Protection (CEP), the Commission for the Conservation of Antarctic Marine Living Resources (CCAMLR), the Convention for the Conservation of Antarctic Seals (CCAS), and the Advisory Committee to the Agreement on the Conservation of Albatrosses and Petrels (ACAP). 

SCAR’s role in the ATCM and CEP includes provision of Working Papers and Information Papers on:

  • Emerging policy-relevant issues;
  • Reviews of the state of knowledge; and
  • Scientific and technical advice. 

SCAR also provides a yearly Lecture on science topics SCAR believes will be of most interest to the Treaty Parties.

In September 2013, a workshop was convened jointly by SCAR and COMNAP to identify responses to conservation challenges in Antarctica.  The outcomes of the workshop are being used to inform the drafting of an Antarctic Conservation Strategy.  An information paper on progress was presented to the XXXVII ATCM in 2014 (see IP011 on the ATCM 37 Papers page). 

At the XIX Meeting of the Committee for Environmental Protection in 2016, SCAR introduced Working Paper 23 -SCAR Code of Conduct for Activity within Terrestrial Geothermal Environments in Antarctica. SCAR highlighted the high level of consultation undertaken in the development of the Code of Conduct, including a broad cross-section of the scientific community and COMNAP.
The SCAR Code of Conduct was endorsed by means of Resolution 3 (2016) at Antarctic Treaty Consultative Meeting XXXIX. This was the first SCAR Code of Conduct to be endorsed by means of Resolution by the Consultative Parties, and consideration is currently being given to the submission of other SCAR Codes of Conduct for similar endorsement at future ATCMs.

Members of the Standing Committee on the Antarctic Treaty System:

      Term of Service
Dr Aleks Terauds - Chief Officer Australia aleks.terauds[at] 2014 - 2018
Dr Kevin Hughes - Deputy Chief Officer UK kehu[at] 2010 - 2018 
Dr Thomas Bracegirdle - PSG Representative UK tjbra[at] 2016 - 2020
Dr Mark Hindell - SCAR-CCAMLR Liaison Australia Mark.Hindell[at] 2008 - 2018 
Dr Daniela Liggett New Zealand daniela.liggett[at] 2014 - 2018 
Dr Anton Van de Putte - SCADM Chief Officer Belgium antonarctica[at] 2016 - 2020
Dr Marcelo Reguero - GSG Representative Argentina regui[at] 2016 - 2020 
Dr Yan Ropert-Coudert - LSG and EGBAMM Representative France docyaounde[at] 2014 - 2018 
Dr Akinori Takahashi Japan atak[at] 2014 - 2018 
Dr Jenny Baeseman Secretariat jenny[at]  2016 -