space banner6


The Co-Chairs of HASSEG are This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..


Executive Committee

The Executive Committee of HASSEG was formed as a core group of experts in January 2010 and was then expanded over time to ensure a wide geographical and disciplinary representation. This core group assumes the role of a steering group and provides the strategic direction for HASSEG. It is also the first point of contact for any official communication from SCAR and other bodies. The leadership of the group is being kept dynamic. Dr Gary Steel acted as co-chair from 2010 to 2012, and was followed by Dr Juan Francisco Salazar, who was elected as a co-chair from 2012-2014. Assoc. Elizabeth Leane took over from Dr Salazar as a co-chair of the group in early 2015.

Dr Sanjay Chaturvedi (ex officio) (IN) Geopolitics
Dr Alan Hemmings (AU/NZ/UK) Polar Governance and Policy
Assoc Prof Elizabeth Leane (Co-Chair) (AU) Literature (Arts and Humanities)
Dr Daniela Liggett (Co-Chair) (NZ/DE) Environmental Management/Tourism
Hanne Nielsen (ECR representative) (NZ/AU) Literary and Cultural Studies
Christian Lorenzo (AR) International Relations
Dr Jessica O'Reilly (US) Anthropology
Assoc Prof Juan Francisco Salazar (AU/AR) Anthropology and Cultural/Media Studies
Prof Akiho Shibata (JP) Law
Dr Gary Steel (ex officio) (NZ/CA) Psychology

Note: Country codes in parentheses above indicate the country of residence followed by, where different, the country of origin.
AU - Australia; CA - Canada; CL - Chile; DE - Germany; IN - India; JP - Japan; NL - The Netherlands; UK - United Kingdom; US - USA

General Membership

HASSEG welcomes new members. Any one with a research interest in the Antarctic from a humanities or social science perspective is welcome to join. If you would like to get involved in the Humanities and Social Sciences Expert Group, please visit our membership page or This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..

Some of HASSEG's members have profiles on our website.