space banner6

SCAR General News

Online (Zoom) conference hosted by the
US Scientific Committee on Antarctic Research (US-SCAR)
Click here to visit the meeting website

No registration fee
This meeting is supported by funding from NSF/Office of Polar Programs/Antarctic Sciences

US-SCAR is hosting a meeting for US scientists who are conducting research in, from or about Antarctica and the Southern Ocean. Scientists interested in getting involved in Antarctic research through US programs are also welcome and encouraged to attend. This conference is open to all US scientists and anyone interested in US Antarctic research. There is no registration fee.

The meeting will provide opportunities for US Antarctic scientists to get together and present their work, and for early career researchers and others new to Antarctic science to learn about SCAR and the various resources available to US scientists for Antarctic-related research. There will be a mix of Lightning Talks, panels and social activities for the US Antarctic Community to meet and interact.

The meeting and associated events will be on Zoom. The schedule (see below) is set for two hours each day (one hour science and one hour panel) with additional time added for socializing. The panels will have brief presentations by panelists, and most of the time will be devoted to questions and discussion.


Deadlines


Planned Schedule

Start time: 3 pm EDT, 2 pm CDT, 1 pm MDT, 12 pm PDT, 11 am AKDT, 9 am HST

July 12, Monday
12:00 pm PDT: Opening session: Overview of US-funded Antarctic science  
12:30 pm PDT: SCAR Panel - Meet the US-SCAR Team and hear how to get involved with SCAR at the international level  
1:30 pm PDT: Social activity  
July 13, Tuesday
12:00 pm PDT: Science presentations*  
1:00 pm PDT: Panel - TBD  
2:00 pm PDT: Social activity  
July 14, Wednesday
12:00 pm PDT: Science presentations*  
1:00 pm PDT: NSF Panel - Antarctic Sciences program managers  
2:00 pm PDT: Social activity  
July 15, Thursday
12:00 pm PDT: Science presentations*  
1:00 pm PDT: GIS Methods and Resources Panel - Convener: Paul Morin, Director of the US Polar Geospatial Center  
2:00 pm PDT: Social activity


*5-minute Lightning Talks with questions at end of session, number of concurrent sessions will be determined by number of abstracts submitted