space banner6

SCAR General News

Michael Hambrey photoThe 2018 SCAR Medal for Excellence in Antarctic Research has been awarded to Professor Michael Hambrey, Emeritus Professor of Glaciology, Aberystwyth University, UK, for his distinctive insights into the field of glaciology and of particular note the application of our understanding of modern glacial processes to interpreting ancient glacial sequences. Michael Hambrey's work was acknowledged as often the first thorough analysis in a particular sector, but if not, it was invariably groundbreaking.

After receiving the news about his award, Michael commented "I am delighted and honoured to receive the 2018 SCAR Medal for Excellence in Antarctic Research. I have been fortunate to investigate modern glaciers in many parts of the world, and be able to use the knowledge gained to interpret older glacial sequences in Antarctica and elsewhere. This work could not have been undertaken without the wonderful collaboration I have had from colleagues around the world, notably the Antarctic community, with whom it has been a pleasure to work. I thank them for their contribution, and the SCAR Executive Committee in making this award."

The SCAR Medal for Excellence in Antarctic Research is awarded in recognition of sustained contributions to research over a career. Selection is based on a person's outstanding contributions to knowledge and the impact of their work on understanding the Antarctic region, the linkages between Antarctica and the Earth system, and/or observations of and from Antarctica. Nominees are welcomed in all areas of Antarctic and Southern Ocean research. A distinguished career in providing scientific advice to policy- and/or decision-makers is also considered a demonstration of excellence in Antarctic research. Awardees should have a distinguished professional career history and have demonstrated involvement in SCAR activities.

Professor Hambrey's application, led by Professor Julian Dowdeswell, was considered by an independent medal committee and approved by the SCAR Executive Committee. The medal will be awarded at the XXXV SCAR Meeting, during the Polar2018 Conference Dinner in Davos on the 21st of June 2018. Michael Hambrey joins a distinguished group of past recipients of this Medal including Robert Dunbar (2016), Steven L. Chown (2014), John Priscu (2012), John Turner (2010), Angelika Brandt (2008), and Paul Mayewski (2006).

For more information on SCAR Medals, please see

Please join us in celebrating the important contributions of Professor Michael Hambrey.