Joint SCAR/CEP Workshop on Further Developing the Antarctic Protected Area System

Workshop Note

Dear colleagues,

Thank you for registering to attend the Joint SCAR/CEP Workshop on Further Developing the Antarctic Protected Area System in Prague from 27-28 June 2019. To inform your preparations, this Workshop Note provides details of the workshop documents and arrangements.

Workshop documents

All workshop documents are available on the workshop website:

- First, go to: https://scar.org/users/login/ (username: cepworkshop2019; password: SCARCEP2019)
- Then go to https://scar.org/cep2019/documents/

Please take the time to review the documents in advance. Recent updates include:

- a revision to the draft *Report on the State of the Antarctic Protected Area System* to incorporate minor corrections
- summaries of the SCAR presentations under ToR 2.

There will be WiFi access at the workshop venue, and the aim is to operate a paperless meeting. Please bring printed versions of any documents you wish to have in hard copy.

Participants

Please see attached a list of workshop participants.

Workshop dinner

The Ministry of the Environment of the Czech Republic, the Czech Geological Survey and the Australian Antarctic Division are very pleased to offer a dinner for workshop participants at 1900 on Thursday 27 June. The dinner will be at the Klasterni Pivovar Strahov restaurant (http://www.klasterni-pivovar.cz/). If you have a vegetarian preference, please contact Ms Petra Tacheci (Petra.Tacheci@mzp.cz).

Registration

Registration at the Masarykova Kolej will be open from 0800 on Thursday 27 June. Participants are kindly requested to arrive in time to allow a prompt start to the opening session at 0900.

Please let us know if you have any queries regarding about the above, or any other aspect of the workshop. We are looking forward to seeing you in Prague very soon!

Workshop steering committee

Workshop participants

Name	Organisation / CEP Member
Aleks Terauds	SCAR*#
Amanda Lombard	SCAR
Chandrika Nath	SCAR*#
Hanne Neilsen	SCAR
Heather Lynch	SCAR
Luis Pertierra	SCAR
Peter Convey	SCAR
Steven Chown	SCAR*
Yan Ropert-Coudert	SCAR
Claire Christian	ASOC
Ricardo Roura	ASOC
Ewan McIvor	Australia*#
Phillip Tracey	Australia
Annick Wilmotte	Belgium
Francois Andrew	Belgium
Birgit Njaastad	CEP*
Marcelo Leppe	Chile
Veronica Vallejos	Chile
Jianye Tang	China
Michelle Rogan-Finnemore	COMNAP
Daniel Nyvlt	Czech Republic
Petra Tachecí	Czech Republic
Premysl Stepanek	Czech Republic
Zdenek Venera	Czech Republic*
Atte Moilanen	Finland
Fritz Hertel	Germany
Heike Herata	Germany
Stefan Hain	Germany
Amanda Lynnes	IAATO
Maurizio Azzaro	Italy
Paolo Nicolai	Italy
Junichi Fujihara	Japan
Kota Anjo	Japan
Satoshi Imura	Japan
Ceisha Poirot	New Zealand
Neil Gilbert	New Zealand
Astrid Høgestøl	Norway
Konstantin Timokhin	Russian Federation
Victor Pomelov	Russian Federation
Siyabonga Dlulisa Siyabonga Dlulisa	South Africa

Name	Organisation / CEP Member
Thomas Mufanadzi	South Africa
Antonio Quesada	Spain*
Justiina Dahl	Sweden
Andrii Fedchuk	Ukraine
Kevin Hughes	United Kingdom*
Susie Grant	United Kingdom
Colin Harris	United States
Deneb Karentz	United States
Polly Penhale	United States*#
Alvaro Soutullo	Uruguay*
Ana Laura Machado	Uruguay

^{*}Workshop steering committee member

#Workshop co-convener