space banner

The SCAR Secretariat is staffed by the Executive Director, Executive Officer and a part-time Administrative Assistant.  It is responsible for the day-to-day administration of SCAR and is reports to the Executive Committee. The SCAR Secretariat is based at the Scott Polar Research Institute in Cambridge, UK.

Scientific Committee on Antarctic Research
Scott Polar Research Institute
Lensfield Road
United Kingdom

Tel: +44 1223 336550
Fax: +44 1223 336549
Email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

SCAR Staff

Executive Director - Dr Jenny Baeseman

Jenny Baeseman web photo

This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it., Mobile: +44 7834 269998

Jenny began her love of the cold growing up on a dairy farm in Wisconsin, USA.  She has a BSc in Water Chemistry from the University of WI - Stevens Point, an MSc in Civil Engineering from the University of Minnesota, a PhD also in Civil Engineering with an environmental emphasis from the University of Colorado, and postdoctoral training in Geosciences from Princeton University. She has spent four seasons in Antarctica, three in the McMurdo Dry Valleys and one on the peninsula.

Jenny was very involved in the planning of the International Polar Year (IPY) and, through this, co-founded and subsequently became the Founding Director of the Association of Polar Early Career Scientists (APECS) which grew to over 3500 members from 76 countries during her leadership. One of her main objectives in developing APECS was to help young researchers combine their interests in interdisciplinary polar science with education and outreach and gain international leadership through professional development activities.

In April 2012 she turned over the reins of the early career group to become the Director of the Climate and the Cryosphere Project (CliC), sponsored by the WCRP (World Climate Research Programme), SCAR and IASC (the International Arctic Science Committee). The CliC Project office is hosted by the Norwegian Polar Institute in Tromsø, Norway. She continues research in her spare time through an adjunct position at the International Arctic Research Center (IARC) at the University of Alaska – Fairbanks. One of Jenny's personal goals is to make sure everyone she meets knows that polar bears don't eat penguins - as they live at different Poles.

Executive Officer - Dr Eoghan Griffin

Eoghan Griffin web photo

This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it., Office: +44 1223 336556, Mobile: +44 7793 244638

Eoghan has a PhD in Atmospheric Physics and an MSc in Experimental Physics.

From 1994, Eoghan spent the next 15 years at University College London in the Atmospheric Physics Laboratory studying the polar upper atmosphere, first as a PhD student and then as a Post-Doctoral Research Fellow until 2009.  He then joined the Imperial College INSPIRE teacher training programme and became a qualified teacher in 2010 before joining SCAR as a Project Officer in September 2011.  In this role he helped manage aspects of the Open Science Conferences, Climate Change communications and laterly the day-to-day finances at the Secretariat.  Eoghan took up the post of Executive Officer on 1 January 2015.

Administrative Assistant - Mrs Rosemary Nash

Rosemary Nash web photo

This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it., Office: +44 1223 336550

part-time: 9am-3pm, Monday to Thursday

Rosemary has a BA in History and Psychology and has worked in a number of administrative and other roles during her lengthy and varied career, including some years as a computer programmer, and a period as a full-time mother.

Rosemary joined SCAR as Administrative Assistant in October 2007. At that time, she knew very little about Antarctica except that it had penguins not polar bears, and that there was a landmass under the ice which had been part of Gondwana. She’s learnt a lot since then!


Secretariat Quarterly Reports

Since the reorganisation of SCAR in 2004 and the appointment of the first Executive Director, the SCAR Secretariat staff have provided a report at the end of each quarter, detailing the work they have undertaken in the previous three months. If you are intersted in reading about the achievments of the Secretariat, read the reports.

Quarterly Reports folder

History of SCAR Secretariat Staff

Assistant/Executive Secretaries and Executive Directors

George E Hemmen Assistant Secretary (part-time) 1 January 1962 - 24 August 1970
Executive Secretary (part-time) 25 August 1970 - 30 September 1989
Peter D Clarkson Executive Secretary (full-time) 1 May 1989 - 18 June 2005
Colin P Summerhayes Executive Director (part-time)
1 January 2004 to 1 April 2004
1 April 2004 - 31 March 2010

Michael D Sparrow

Executive Director (full-time) 1 April 2010 - 22 May 2015
Jenny L Baeseman Executive Director (full-time) July 2015 - November 2017

Executive Officers

Marzena Kaczmarska (full-time) 1 June 2005 - 15 March 2007
Michael D Sparrow (full-time) 1 July 2007 - 31 March 2010
Renuka Badhe (full-time) 22 February 2010 - 31 December 2014
Eoghan Griffin (full-time) 1 January 2015 -

Project Officer

(temporary post supported by funds from Norway and the Tinker Foundation)

Eoghan Griffin (part-time) 5 October 2011 - 31 December 2014


Various SPRI staff (part-time) - 29 September 1959
Mrs H G Hatley (part-time) 29 September 1959 - 1 September 1961
Miss J Cotton (part-time) 1 September 1961 - 10 July 1963
Mrs L Jones (full-time) 11 July 1963 - 6 March 1964
Miss E F Lingham (full-time) 2 March 1964 - 1 August 1966
Miss L Teasdale (full-time) 1 August 1966 - 26 August 1967
Miss P J Bunn (full-time) 4 September 1967 - 27 April 1968
Mrs M Calder (full-time) 6 May 1968 - 30 December 1968
Miss C M Gairdner (full-time) 20 January 1969 - 28 August 1972
Mrs J M Jones (full-time) 31 August 1972 - 30 April 1973
Mrs J E Whiting (full-time) 14 May 1973 - 12 April 1985
Ms V Hunter (full-time) 12 April 1985 - 3 September 1985
Mrs P M Richmond (full-time) 10 March 1986 - 31 May 1998

Administrative Assistants

Mrs M J Hassett (full-time) 1 July 1998 -11 September 2000
Mr N Bislanis (temporary part-time to cover maternity leave)
Mr D Dissanayake (temporary part-time to cover maternity leave)
Mr M Armansin (temporary part-time to cover maternity leave)
Moira J Hassett (part-time) 11 September 2000 - 18 January 2002
Amanda J Dalton (full-time) 14 January 2002 - 25 August 2005
Karen Smith (part-time) 30 January 2006 - 29 September 2007
Rosemary Nash (part-time) 9 October 2007 -