Antarctic Thresholds - Ecosystem Resilience and Adaptation (AnT-ERA)



An official membership to AnT-ERA is not required;

everyone, who is interested is welcome to join us!


Each scientific program that would like to cooperate with or contribute to AnT-ERA can be listed on AnT-ERA's webpage, contact: Julian Gutt. To become a member of AnT-ERA's maining list visit:


JGChief Officer: JULIAN GUTT is a senior scientist working for the Alfred Wegener Institute, Hemholtz Centre for Polar and Marine Research, Germany (AWI), and has been involved in polar science since 1984. He has contributed to a variety of international programmes in committees and via his own field research, mainly focussing on benthic systems. Recently he was the chief scientist of an interdisciplinary expedition with R/V Polarstern and PI of a project (to be continued) on the response of the marine ecosystems to the Larsen ice shelf disintegration. He is co-editor and one of the lead-authors of SCAR's ACCE report with its regular updates. He contributed to the 1st SCAR Horizon Scan and is co-editor of the SCAR Biogeographic Atlas. In addition to his scientific work at AWI, he is professor at the Oldenburg University (Germany) and lead-author of the Global Assessment of the Intergovernmental Science-Policy Platform on Biodiversity and Ecosystem Services (IPBES). J. Gutt has published approx. 72 peer-reviewed scientific articles, 35 with 1st authorship.


 Lead investigators:

Theme 1:
LLOYD PECK, British Antarctic Survey, High Cross, Madingley Rd, Cambridge, CB3 0ET, UK;
CINZIA VERDE, Institute of Protein Biochemistry, National Research Council, Via P. Castellino 111 80131 Naples, Italy,
BYRON ADAMS, Brigham Young University, 685 WIDB, Provo, UT 84602, U.S.A.,
IAN HOGG, Biological Sciences, University of Waikato, Private Bag 3105, Hamilton 3240, New Zealand.
Theme 2:
DIANA WALL,Natural Resources Ecology Laboratory, Colorado State University, Fort Collins, CO, U.S.A.,
AKINORI TAKAHASHI, National Institute of Polar Research, 10-3 Midori-cho, Tachikawa, Tokyo, 190-8518, Japan,
VONDA CUMMINGS, NIWA, Private Bag 14-901, 301 Evans Bay Parade, Wellington, New Zealand,
IN-YOUNG AHN, Korea Polar Research Institute, Korea Institute of Ocean Science & Technology (KIOST), 26 Songdomirae-ro, Yeonsu-gu, Incheon 406-840, South Korea
Theme 3:
CRAIG SMITH, Department of Oceanography, University of Hawaii at Manoa, 1000 Pope Road, Honolulu, HI 96822 USA,
ENRIQUE ISLA, Institut de Ciències del Mar-CSIC, Passeig Marítim de la Barceloneta, 37-49, Barcelona, 08003, Spain,
IRENE SCHLOSS, Dirección Nacional del Antártico, Balcarce 290 (C1064AAF), Ciudad Autónoma de Buenos Aires, and CONICET, Argentina* & Institut des sciences de la mer de Rimouski, 310, Allée des Ursulines, G5L 3A1, Rimouski, Québec, Canada, * present address: Centro Austral de Investigaciones Científicas, CONICET and Universidad Nacional de Tierra del Fuego, Ushuaia, Argentina
JOSÉ XAVIER, Institute of Marine Research, Department of Life Sciences, Apart. 3046, University of Coimbra, 3001-401 Coimbra, Portugal,
SIEGLINDE OTT, Institut für Botanik, Heinrich-Heine-Universität, Universitätsstr. 1, Gebäude 26.13.
Ex officio EASIZ chief officer: GUIDO Di PRISCO
Liaison officers:
to PS SSG, especially AntClim21: Thomas Bracegirdle (British Antarctic Survey, BAS); to IASC: Monika Kędra (Institute of Oceanology, Polish Academy of Sciences, Sopot, Poland); to ICED: Eugene Murphy (BAS); to ANTOS: Diana Wall; to AntEco: Don Cowan. APECS representatives: Coleen Suckling (BAS) & Trevor McIntyre (University of Pretoria, South Africa); contact person at SCADAM: Ben Raymond (Antarctic Climate & Ecosystems Cooperative Research Centre)